Prayerful, Sad and Thankful this blustery day…

Standard

As I sit by my fire feeling warm and cozy on this snowy April day, I can’t help but think of the people that are out and about putting their lives on the line to keep us safe,  so that we can enjoy these cozy blustery days by our fire.

Yesterday a Deputy Sheriff in a nearby town was killed while serving an Eviction Notice.  A Civilian was also killed while offering his assistance to the Deputy.  It saddens me that someone can take the life of another for just doing their jobs.  Our world has become so unpredictable, angry, sad and hopeless.  As I watched on TV the incident unfold all afternoon and into the evening, I could not help but think about the families of the officers, firemen, and military.  I watched them putting their lives in danger to keep ours safe.  Then I thought, wow, their wives, their husbands, parents and children are at home watching just what I am watching and my heart broke.  I am a wife of a Law Enforcement Officer, I have been that wife watching the tv to see if I can see my husband so I know is is safe.  I have consoled my children during the Rodney King Riots and the San Francisco Earthquake of October 1989 and other moments when his job took him away for days…. gone for days to keep people safe.  I had my very proud moments, my very scared moments and my very brave moments for my children.  I sit by this fire today and I find myself so heart broken for our service men and women.  I feel guilty for looking out my window today and enjoying the snowfall when I know others are mourning the loss of a loved one that did not come home from his job last night.  It could be me, it could be you…

I am a very proud “Wife behind the Badge” and I stand behind my husband in all he does, and all that he stands for.  I cherish the moments we share because I am so aware of the fact that it could be our last.

I ask that as you look out your window today and everyday that you give thanks to those that are putting their lives on the line for your peace and remember that they too have a family, someone who loves them and wants them to come home and share the life that they are to share together.

Our society has changed, this is not “Mayberry”.  These men and women never know what they are walking up to, or into.  Please pray for their safety before you close your eyes at night.  It’s because of them that you can rest peacefully.  We ask so much of them, and all they ask from us is a little respect and prayer.

Leave a Reply

