Crock Pot Taco Soup

Standard

Happy Monday!!  It is truly a beautiful Spring day here in the Motherlode today!!  Today will truly be cherished as yet another round of storms is expected through the region this week dropping low snow once again!  So today, I vow to spend some time outdoors and enjoy the sunshine that God has gifted us with today!!

I wanted to share a Taco soup recipe that I had on Saturday night.  We loved it and it has a ingredient that just made this so unique I had to share with you!  Hope you enjoy!!  Once again… Southern Living has graced our taste buds!!  : )

1 1/2 pounds of Ground Beef

1 cup chopped red onion

1 (1.23 ounce) package taco seasoning mix

1 (1 ounce) package of Ranch style dressing mix

2 (15.25 ounce) cans of Whole kernel corn, undreained

1 (16 ounce) can pinto beans, undreained

1 (15 ounce) can black beans, undrained

2 (10 ounce) cans chili style diced tomatoes with green chilies, undrained

1 (12 ounce) can of beer  This is my favorite ingredient… just makes this recipe special!!

1 1/2 cups water

Toppings:  Cheese, sour cream, tortilla chips, cilantro

 

Cook Beef and onion in a large skillet over medium high heat.  Stir until meat crumbles and is no longer pink, drain.

Combine meat mixture, taco seasoning mix, and next 7 ingredients in a slow cooker.

Cover and cook on LOW for 5 to 6 hours.  Serve with desired toppings.  Makes 16 cups.

 

Easy, tasty, and an “I’ll make this again” dish!!!  The beer gives this a sweet and tangy taste.  We loved it!!  Let me know what you think!!

 

Wanted to take this moment as well to thank my Mom, Sandy for a wonderful Easter Brunch.  She went above and beyond to make it a special day as she always has in all the years we have been blessed with her in our lives!!  We spent the day eating, laughing, relaxing and playing some cards as well!!  Even had time for a nap before the card game!!  : )  Thank you mom, it was a perfect day.  I love you!!

5 responses »

  1. Oh Lisa … I really would love being able to prepare those recipes here in Italy … I have to study where to find ingredients … I really like very much stuff like that 🙂

  2. Lisa, I have a similar recipe for taco soup but it calls for only water, not beer. Next time I make it I will try the beer. If I liked beer I would drink it and stick to the water. ha,ha.

    • Hi Linda, it really gives it a different flavor… let me know how you liked it. Brad and I had gone to a chilli cook off not to long ago, and when I made this taco soup with beer, it reminded me of one of the chili’s I had tasted. As it cooked that flavor dulled a bit. But still, on of my family’s favorite Taco Soup Recipe yet!!

Leave a Reply

