Amish White Bread Recipe

Standard

So I have been feeling pretty “Domestic” lately.  I have been racking my brain, thinking of ways to cut back on the grocery bill.  You know, trying to do my part!  I looked at all the things that I have to buy on a regular basis that cost a lot and then looked at the ingredients and figured out that it is much cheaper and much tastier to make my own bread for the family.  This particular recipe makes two loaves of bread and is so simple to make.  They freeze well if you want to double the recipe and make four loaves and just take a day to make bread once a month.   I enjoyed making the bread so much, that I will dedicate a day twice a month to make bread for the family and I vow not to by sandwich bread any longer!!

There are many recipes out there, I read through a lot of them and really liked this one.  Especially since I am a beginner!

Amish White Bread

Ingredients:

2 cups warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)

2/3 cup white sugar

1 1/2 tablespoons active dry yeast

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1/4 cup vegetable oil

6 cups bread flour

Directions:

1.  In a large bowl, dissolve the sugar in warm water, and then stir in yeast.  Allow to proof until yeast resembles a creamy foam.

2.  Mix salt and oil into the yeast.  Mix in flour one cup at a time.  Knead dough on a lightly floured surface until smooth.  Place in a well oiled bowl, and turn dough to coat.  Cover with a damp cloth.  Allow to rise until doubled in bulk, about one hour.

3.  Punch dough down.  Knead for a few minutes, and divide in half.  Shape into loaves, and place into two well oiled 9×5 loaf pans.  Allow to rise for 30 minutes, or until dough has risen 1 inch above pans.  (note:  I only had one loaf pan and used an oblong casserole dish as you can see the difference in my loaves, but it worked fine)

4.  Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 30 minutes.  Cool on wire rack.

I hope you enjoy your bread as much as we are enjoying ours!  If you  have small kids, this is so much fun to do with them.  And if you don’t, you might find the kneading of the bread is rather therapeutic.  I did!

4 responses »

  1. The best part is the SMELL. The scent of fresh bread is like nothing else. I haven’t baked bread since we moved from Arnold, but I want to get back to it. 🙂

  2. I did not think that I would enjoy the time that it took… but it was very therapeutic and the taste of homemade bread is soooo worth it!! I need to make more today, as the two loaves are just about gone now. I may have just spoiled my family with this!!

  3. And so Lisa … here I am!!! You know, I always make bread at home, but I don’t use commercial yeast … I have my sourdough that I feed regularly and I like my bread very very much (just as my husband and my friends do).

    You and your friends are right! There’s nothing else whose smell can be compared to just baked bread smell 🙂

    See you!!!!

Leave a Reply

