When the world seems against you…

Standard

When the world seems to be against you and you feel so isolated that you just want to find a corner and curl up in it…. remember, you are not alone.  This is the time that your faith is tested and when you need to reach out to others.  Don’t allow yourself to be isolated.   Don’t be afraid to seek help, don’t be afraid to open up to someone that you can trust.  We all have at least ONE person that we can trust in our lives, to  open up to and know that they will listen unconditionally.

Sometimes the burdens of life make us stumble… I stumble a lot.  But I rely on my faith to lift me back up when I fall.  Without “faith” I don’t know where I’d be in my life.  I know that it is okay to have my moments of “Why me”  it’s normal, and it’s okay!  After those moments of “Why me” and no answers… it’s then when I realize, there are no answers!  I then switch my thoughts to “God does not give you anything that you can not handle”.  I realize that he has placed me where I am for very specific reasons.  God gave to me two wonderful kids.  That is when most of my challenges began.  We were not blessed with “Good Health” in this household.    After almost losing my daughter after what they think was the first of many years of seizures to come, I began to search for a stronger faith in God.  I have never really had a relationship with God up until the moment when I was told I needed to pray for my daughters life.  That is the moment that my life changed and I found my God, my strength and I learned how to pray.  My daughter was placed back in to my arms three days later.   As I held her, I found myself talking to God, thanking God for bringing her back to me and giving us this chance to live, grow and love each other unconditionally and to grow in faith together.  At age 17 now, she is seizure free and no medications for five years now.  Pretty amazing huh… nah, it’s just God showing us that prayer and faith works.  We have celebrated her being seizure free…  and then we had a let down moment, but only a moment.  My daughter has shown signs of auto immune disease (like me, her two aunts and a cousin)  While it saddens us that she deals with weakness, feeling sick and often has sore muscles, she pushes hard.  She is an athlete.  Nothing will stop her from living strong, hard and pushing through her fears and weakness.  She is a child of God, and she is living as just that.  Strong, faithful and positive.   One day at a time, one prayer at a time.  Life is good, and everyday we have, we except as a new journey… no matter what is in our road, we accept it head on!!

Randy Pausch, a computer science professor at Carnegie Mellon, was asked to give a lecture, he didn’t have to imagine it as his last, since he had recently been diagnosed with terminal cancer.  But the lecture he gave – “Really Achieving Your Childhood Dreams” – wasn’t about dying. It was about the importance of overcoming obstacles, of enabling the dreams of others, of seizing every moment (because “time is all you have… and you may find one day that you have less than you think”).  It was a summation of everything Randy had come to believe.  It was about living. 

If you have not read Randy’s book, “The Last Lecture”, I highly recommend that you do.  Its his story of faith and courage that we must all have to live the life that we have been gifted.  This book has changed my life and has made me less angry of the ill’s that have been placed in my life, my daughters life and my son’s life (which i’ll share in another post… lucky you!)

On this beautiful day I leave you with this:

“Go within every day and find the inner strength so that the world will not blow your candle out.”
— Katherine Dunham

 

Leave a Reply

